≡ Menu

Township Government

City of Champaign Township is a unit of local government.

City of Champaign Township serves an area with the same boundaries as the City of Champaign and is funded by property taxes collected on real properties within the Township boundaries.

The Township is comprised of the Supervisor’s Office and the Assessor’s Office. The Supervisor is CEO of the Township and has the responsibility of issuing General Assistance welfare benefits to eligible persons living in Champaign Township (City of Champaign). The Supervisor is also the treasurer of all Township funds and is responsible for preparing the annual Township budget. Additionally, the Supervisor serves one of three members on the Champaign – Urbana Public Health Board.

The Assessor’s Office is responsible for determining the fair market value of taxable property within City of Champaign Township so that the tax burden is distributed equitably.

Township Board

Since our boundaries are coterminous with the boundaries of the City of Champaign, the Champaign City Council members serve ex-officio as the Township Board of the Town of the City of Champaign.

The Township Board meets in regular session on the first Tuesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers of the Champaign City Building, 102 North Neil Street, Champaign, Illinois 61820. The Township Budget Committee consists of all board members and meets as needed on budget matters. Special meetings may be called by the Township Supervisor to meet on the Town Budget and meetings are scheduled with the City Manager’s Office on any available Tuesday at 7:00 p.m., also in the city building. Township board and committee meetings are open to the public.